1. Home
  2. Staying Private Online
  3. How to Delete Facebook

How to Delete Facebook

Delete Facebook: What will be deleted?

By deleting your Facebook account, you’ll be erasing your profile, photos, posts, videos, and anything else that you’ve personally added to Facebook. You won’t be able to retrieve any of these things. Some information, like messages you sent to friends, might still be visible after you’ve deleted your account. After 14 days, you won’t be able to reactivate your account. You must do this within your Facebook account- deleting the app will not delete your profile.

Deactivating Your Account

Deleting your account is different from deactivating your account. Deactivating means that nobody will be able to see your profile. Your account will still exist, and friends might still be able to see you on their Friends List and chat with you in Messenger.

How to Delete Facebook on Desktop

1. Log in to Facebook. Click the arrow at the top right corner of any Facebook page, and click Settings.delete facebook

2. Click ‘Your Facebook Information’ in the left column. Click ‘Delete Your Account and Information’ at the bottom of the right column. 

delete facebook3. Click ‘Delete Account’ on the bottom right.

delete facebook

How to Delete Facebook on Mobile

1. Open Facebook on your phone and log in. At the bottom-right corner of your app, tap on the three parallel horizontal lines. In this page, tap ‘Settings & Privacy’.

delete facebook

2. This will open a smaller menu. Tap ‘Settings’.

delete facebook

3. Tap ‘Account Ownership and Control’.

delete facebook

4. Tap ‘Deactivation and Deletion’.

delete facebook

5. Tap the bubble next to ‘Delete Account’, and click the blue bar that says ‘Continue to account deletion’.

delete facebook

6. Tap the blue bar that says ‘Delete Account’.

delete facebook

How Long Until Your Profile is Deleted?

You have 14 days to fully commit to deleting your account. If you log back in within this timeframe, you will be able to retrieve your information. It may take up to 90 days to for Facebook fully delete your all of your data, but it won’t be accessible to other users during this time period.

Was this article helpful?