How to Delete Instagram

Delete Instagram: What will be deleted?

By deleting your Instagram account, you’ll be erasing your profile, photos, stories, videos, and anything else that you’ve personally added to Instagram. After you’ve deleted your account, you cannot sign up again under the same username, or add that username to another account. Deleted accounts cannot be reactivated. If you’d just like to take a break, you can temporarily deactivate your account instead.

Deactivating Your Account

Deleting your account is different from deactivating your account. Deactivating means that nobody will be able to see your profile. Your account will still exist, and friends might still be able to see you on their Friends List and chat with you in Messenger.

How to Delete Instagram on Desktop

Note: It is not possible to delete your account from within the Instagram mobile app.

1. Log in to Instagram on your computer and then go to Instagram’s Delete Your Account page.

delete instagram

2. Select an option from the drop-down menu next to Why are you deleting your account? and re-enter your password. You must answer this question to delete your account.

delete instagram

3. Click Permanently delete my account.

Was this article helpful?