1. Home
  2. Opt-Out Guides
  3. How to Remove Yourself from Background Alert

How to Remove Yourself from Background Alert

DeleteMe’s Background Alert Review

Background Alert is a data broker that collects your information and posts it online. Opting-out and removing yourself from Background Alert requires you to fill out an opt-out form and verify your identity by uploading your ID. After this, your information will be removed within seven business days. 

Speed: 5, SlowestDifficulty: 2, Easy

How to Remove Your Information From Background Alert

1. Go to their opt-out site, https://backgroundalert.com/optout/ and search for your listing.

remove yourself from background alert opt out removal

2. Find your result and click “That’s Me”.

remove yourself from background alert opt out removal3. Enter your email address so that they can send you a confirmation email (we recommend using a masked email from Blur).remove yourself from background alert opt out removal

4. You will need to send your ID to confirm your identity.

a. The easiest way is to upload it directly here. You may simply take a photo of your ID on your phone. Be sure to block out your photo, signature, and ID number. You can do this with paper before taking the picture, or digitally on your phone or computer.

remove yourself from background alert opt out removal

b. You may also fax a copy to (866) 617-7757. Again, be sure to block out your photo, signature, and ID number, and provide the reference number. Also, be sure to reference your opt-out case number.

remove yourself from background alert opt out removal

c. Finally, you could also send a copy to:

BackgroundAlert.com
6420 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 1040
Los Angeles, CA 90048
attn: Opt Out Request

Once more, be sure to block out your photo, signature, and ID number, and provide the reference number. Also, be sure to reference your opt-out case number.

remove yourself from background alert opt out removal

5. Open the email they sent you and click the link.

remove yourself from background alert opt out removal6. Your information will be removed within seven business days.

remove yourself from background alert opt out removal

Don’t have the time?

DeleteMe is our premium privacy service that removes you from more than 30 data brokers like Whitepages, Spokeo, BeenVerified, plus many more.

Save 20% on DeleteMe when you use the code DIYPRIVACY.

STAY PRIVATE WITH DELETEME

Was this article helpful?