How to Delete Twitter

October 3, 2018

Delete Twitter: What will be deleted?

By deleting your Twitter account, you’ll be erasing your profile, photos, posts, videos, and anything else that you’ve personally added to Twitter. You won’t be able to retrieve any of these things. Some information, like direct messages, might still be visible after you’ve deleted your account. After 30 days, you won’t be able to reactivate your account. You must do this within your Twitter account- only deleting the app will not delete your profile.

Twitter doesn’t have a separate procedure for deactivating and deleting your account. You must deactivate account, and then wait 30 days. After this, your account will go from just deactivated to fully deleted.

How to Delete Twitter on Desktop

1. Sign into your Twitter account.

2. Click on your profile icon on the top right of the page. Click ‘Settings and privacy’.

3. Scroll all the way down in the ‘Account’ section of the page (this should be the default page that comes up in ‘Settings and privacy’). Click ‘Deactivate your account’.

4. Click ‘Deactivate your account’.

5. Enter your password in the popup.

6. Wait 30 days for your account to be fully deleted.

How to Delete Twitter on Mobile

1. Tap on your profile icon on the top left of the screen.

2. Tap ‘Settings and privacy’.

3. Tap ‘Account’.

4. Tap ‘Deactivate your account’.

5. Confirm your password and tap ‘Deactivate’.

6. Tap ‘Yes, deactivate’ in the popup.

7. Wait 30 days for your account to be fully deleted.

How Long Until Your Profile is Deleted?

You have 30 days to fully commit to deleting your account. If you log back in within this timeframe, you will be able to retrieve your information. It won’t be accessible to other users during this time period.

Don’t have the time?

DeleteMe is our premium privacy service that removes you from more than 30 data brokers like Whitepages, Spokeo, BeenVerified, plus many more.

Save 20% on DeleteMe when you use the code DIYPRIVACY.

Hundreds of companies collect and sell your private data online. DeleteMe removes it for you.

Our privacy advisors: 

  • Continuously find and remove your sensitive data online
  • Stop companies from selling your data – all year long
  • Have removed 35M+ records of personal data from the web

Special Offer

Save 20% on any individual and family privacy plan with code: BLOG20

Related Posts

What is Blur?

Blur is the only password manager and digital wallet that also blocks trackers, and helps us…

How is my personal information online?

Personally Identifiable Information (PII) is posted online by data brokers that crawl the web for…

10 Online Privacy Tips

1. Keep your contact information private. When a website asks for your information, you don’t ha…

Over 575 reviews with an average rating of 4.5 out of 5

Over 575 reviews with an average rating of 4.5 out of 5

© 2023 Abine, Inc. All Rights reserved.