Skip to main content

BeenVerified Opt Out Guide

August 2, 2023

Our BeenVerified opt-out guide walks you through how to remove yourself from BeenVerified. 

BeenVerified is one of the many data broker websites that make money trading your personal data.

Sites like BeenVerified collect sensitive data from public records, social media, and other sources and then sell it to anyone who wants it. The information available on BeenVerified includes your name, phone number, address, age, family members’ names, email addresses, vehicle information, and more.  

If you want to protect your privacy and remove yourself from BeenVerified, follow these step-by-step instructions to complete a successful BeenVerified opt-out.

DeleteMe’s BeenVerified Opt-Out Review

Removing yourself from BeenVerified requires you to fill out an opt-out form and verify your email address. Your listing should be removed within 72 hours.

Speed: 4 Difficulty: 2

How to Remove Yourself from BeenVerified

Opt out from BeenVerified in five easy steps.

1. Search for your profile on BeenVerified opt-out page

Go to the BeenVerified opt-out page, and search for your listing by entering your name and state.

BeenVerified opt out page

2. Proceed to opt-out

Find your listing and click “Proceed to Opt Out” on the right.

BeenVerified opt out listings page

3. Submit your opt-out request

Enter your email address (we recommend using a temporary email address) and perform the CAPTCHA.

Submitting opt out request form on BeenVerified

4. Verify your opt-out request

A confirmation email will be sent to you within a few minutes. Click ‘Verify Opt-Out’ at the bottom of the email.

BeenVerified opt out confirmation request email

You will be redirected to the BeenVerified website to see your opt-out confirmation.

BeenVerified opt out request confirmation page

5. Receive successful BeenVerified opt-out confirmation

You will receive a final confirmation email that your Been Verified opt-out has been successful.

Successful BeenVerified opt out confirmation email

Congratulations, you’ve now successfully completed a Been Verified opt-out! 

But to continue protecting your privacy, removing yourself from other data broker databases is highly recommended.

Who Else Is Selling Your Info? 

You’ve completed your BeenVerified removal, but BeenVerified is not the only data broker selling your personal information online (learn more about data brokers in our comprehensive data broker guide). 

Follow our data broker opt-out guide to see what other data brokers and people search sites you may need to remove your data from. Some of our most popular guides include:

Alternatively, subscribe to DeleteMe to get your personal information removed from these and other data broker sites for you. 

BeenVerified Opt Outs FAQs

Here are some common questions that people have about BeenVerified.

What is BeenVerified?

BeenVerified is a people search site. Like all people search sites, BeenVerified collects people’s personal information from public records and other online sources (such as social media), combines this data into comprehensive profiles, and then offers these profiles to anyone who wants them and is willing to pay for them. 

BeenVerified people search reports can include the following information:

Basic information

  • Full name
  • Age
  • Current and past addresses
  • Email addresses
  • Phone numbers
  • Photos, when available

Possible associates

  • Family members
  • Roommates

Criminal & traffic

  • Traffic and criminal records
  • Court proceedings
  • Litigation history

Bankruptcies 

  • Bankruptcy proceedings

Professional

  • Education
  • Employers
  • Business associations

Social media & website

  • Online persona

Besides people search reports, BeenVerified also lets users do reverse phone searches, email lookups, reverse address lookups, property owner searches, and vehicle searches. 

What is BeenVerified used for?

According to BeenVerified, you can use its database for things like:

  • Finding more information about someone you met online.
  • Reconnecting with someone you lost contact with.
  • Checking your own reputation. 
  • Looking up online sellers and buyers.
  • Researching the reputation of vacation property owners or potential travel buddies. 

Data broker services like BeenVerified can also be used by bad actors for things like harassment, stalking, and doxxing. 

Cybercriminals can use BeenVerified to scam you, steal your identity, break into your online accounts (by finding enough personal information to guess your passwords or answers to security questions), and socially engineer you. 

Although BeenVerified says that its services can’t be used for background checks for rental applications, employment screening, or consumer credit applications, among other things, the reality is that they do not vet their customers and users. 

Is BeenVerified legit?

BeenVerified is a legitimate people search site that lets you look up people’s personal information. Because most of the data that BeenVerified collects comes from public records, what it does is not considered illegal. 

Is BeenVerified free?

BeenVerified is not free. To find out information about people through BeenVerified, you need to pay for its services. 

How much does BeenVerified cost?

To see personal information about someone through BeenVerified, you need to become a member. BeenVerified has two membership plans:

  • 1-month membership, which costs $23.99 per month.
  • 3-month membership, which costs $19.19 per month. 

If you don’t immediately subscribe to one of these plans, BeenVerified sends you an email offering a 7-day trial membership for $1. 

How to remove yourself from BeenVerified?

To remove yourself from BeenVerified, search for your profile on the BeenVerified opt-out page and submit an opt-out request. You will then receive a confirmation email asking you to verify your opt-out request. Once you complete your opt-out, your listing should be removed from the BeenVerified database in 72 hours. 

Will BeenVerified relist my data after I remove it?

More than likely. As a general rule, data brokers relist information about people when they collect more of it, even if you’ve previously opted out of their databases. To stay off BeenVerified and other data brokers for good, you need to be opting out of their databases continuously. 

Does BeenVerified notify the person?

BeenVerified does not notify people when someone searches for them via the BeenVerified database, so there’s no way to know if someone looked you up on this people search site. 

Don’t have the time?

DeleteMe is our premium privacy service that removes you from more than 30 data brokers like Whitepages, Spokeo, BeenVerified, plus many more.

Save 10% on DeleteMe when you use the code BLOG10.

Hundreds of companies collect and sell your private data online. DeleteMe removes it for you.

Our privacy advisors: 

  • Continuously find and remove your sensitive data online
  • Stop companies from selling your data – all year long
  • Have removed 35M+ records of personal data from the web

Special Offer

Save 10% on any individual and family privacy plan with code: BLOG10

Related Posts

DeleteMe’s Spokeo Opt Out ReviewStep-by-Step Spokeo Removal GuideWhat Happens Next?Who Else Is S…
Intelius is a data broker site that posts your personal information online.  Use this guide to c…
Been Verified is a data broker that posts your personal information publicly online.  Use this f…